Our Department

You are here

Schwartz Prize

In memory of Dr. Lorraine Schwartz, Assistant Professor in the Department of Mathematics from 1960-1965, her friends and colleagues established this prize in 1966. It is awarded annually for distinctions in the fields of statistics and probability to an undergraduate or graduate student upon the recommendation of the Departments of Mathematics and Statistics.

Dr. Schwartz received her PhD from the University of California, Berkeley, in1960, working with Professor Lucien Le Cam, with a thesis entitled "Consistency of Bayes' Procedures".   She then took a position at UBC where she remained until her untimely death.  However even in her brief career, she made seminal contributions to her field in published research papers that are still cited today.  Her publication list includes the following journal articles.

  • Schwartz, L and Wearden, S.  (1959).  A distribution-free asymptotic method of estimating, testing and setting confidence limits for heritability.   Biometrics 15: 227-235.
  • LeCam, L. and Schwartz, L.  (1960).  A necessary and sufficient condition for the existence of consistent estimates.  Annals of Mathematical Statistics 31: 140-150.
  • Brieman, L, Schwartz, L, and LeCam, L.  (1964).  Consistent estimates and zero-one sets.  Annals of Mathematical Statistics 35: 157-161.
  • Schwartz, L.  (1964).  On consistency of Bayes procedures.  Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 52:  46-49.
  • Schwartz, L (1965).  On Bayes procedures.  Probability Theory and Related Fields 4: 10-26.


Recipient's Name Year Recipient's Category Program News Item
Junjie Zhu 2018 Graduate MSc. Math
Jeffrey Dawson 2017 Undergraduate BSc. Statistics
Tom Hutchcroft 2016 Graduate Ph.D. Math
Ian McDonald 2015 Undergraduate B.Sc. Combined Honours Stat/Math
Jeffrey Bone 2014 Graduate M.Sc. Statistics 2014 Lorraine Schwartz Prize Winner- Jeff Bone
Deshin (James) Finlay 2013 Undergraduate B.Sc. Math and Physics
Roland Bauerschmidt 2012 Graduate Ph.D. Math
Lei Hua 2011 Graduate Ph.D. Statistics
Hannah Cairns 2010 Undergraduate B.Sc. Math
Farzin Barekat 2009 Undergraduate B.Sc. Math and Physics
Joel Fox 2008 Undergraduate BSc. Math and Physics
Cody Severinski 2007 Undergraduate BSc. Math and Statistics
Chen Huang 2006 Undergraduate BSc. Math
Wei-Lung (Dustin) Tseng 2005 Undergraduate BSc. Math and Computer Science
Miranda Holmes 2004 Undergraduate BSc. Math
Richard Liang 2003 Undergraduate BSc. Math and Computer Science
Pascal Tomecek 2002 Undergraduate BSc. Math and Statistics
Timothy Chan 2001 Undergraduate BSc. Math and Statistics
Joel Kenneth Erickson 2000 Undergraduate B.Sc. Physics
Joel Erickson 1999 Undergraduate BSc. Math and Physics