Our Department

You are here

Schwartz Prize

In memory of Dr. Lorraine Schwartz, Assistant Professor in the Department of Mathematics from 1960-1965, her friends and colleagues established this prize in 1966. It is awarded annually for distinctions in the fields of statistics and probability to an undergraduate or graduate student upon the recommendation of the Departments of Mathematics and Statistics.

Dr. Schwartz received her PhD from the University of California, Berkeley, in1960, working with Professor Lucien Le Cam, with a thesis entitled "Consistency of Bayes' Procedures".   She then took a position at UBC where she remained until her untimely death.  However even in her brief career, she made seminal contributions to her field in published research papers that are still cited today.  Her publication list includes the following journal articles.

  • Schwartz, L and Wearden, S.  (1959).  A distribution-free asymptotic method of estimating, testing and setting confidence limits for heritability.   Biometrics 15: 227-235.
  • LeCam, L. and Schwartz, L.  (1960).  A necessary and sufficient condition for the existence of consistent estimates.  Annals of Mathematical Statistics 31: 140-150.
  • Brieman, L, Schwartz, L, and LeCam, L.  (1964).  Consistent estimates and zero-one sets.  Annals of Mathematical Statistics 35: 157-161.
  • Schwartz, L.  (1964).  On consistency of Bayes procedures.  Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 52:  46-49.
  • Schwartz, L (1965).  On Bayes procedures.  Probability Theory and Related Fields 4: 10-26.


Recipient's Name Year Recipient's Category Program News Item
Amanda Nemec 1977 Graduate M.Sc. Statistics
Felisa Tan 1976 Graduate M.Sc. Statistics
Nancy Reid 1975 Graduate M.Sc. Statistics
Lawrence Chen 1974 Graduate M.Sc. Math
Adrian Belshaw 1973 Undergraduate B.Sc. Math
Julian Leong 1972 Undergraduate B.Sc. Math
Jennifer Edwards 1971 Undergraduate B.Sc. Math
Patrick Powell 1970 Undergraduate B.Sc. Math
Anthony Buckland 1969 Undergraduate B.Sc. Math
James Finlay 1968 Undergraduate B.Sc. Math
John Brewster 1966 Undergraduate B.Sc. Math