News & Events

Subscribe to email list

Please select the email list(s) to which you wish to subscribe.

User menu

You are here

Lorraine Schwartz prize winner for 2012 announced

The Department of Mathematics and the Department of Statistics are pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2013 Lorraine Schwartz Prize is Roland Bauerschmidt, PhD student in Mathematics.

In memory of Dr. Lorraine Schwartz, Assistant Professor in the Department of Mathematics from 1960-65, her friends and colleagues established this prize in 1966. It is awarded annually for distinctions in the fields of statistics and probability to an undergraduate or graduate student upon the recommendation of the Departments of Mathematics and Statistics.  You can find more information about Dr Schwartz, along with a list of award recipients at
You will see some familiar names on that list!

Roland is completing a truly impressive thesis this year under the supervision of David Brydges and Gordon Slade, with topics including Gaussian fields and statistical mechanics.

Congratulations, Roland, as winner of the 2013 Schwartz Prize!

May 13, 2013