News & Events

You are here

Marie Auger-Méthé Honoured with 2023 Charles A. McDowell Award for Excellence in Research

Marie Auger-Méthé, Associate Professor of Statistics, and the Institute for the Ocean and Fisheries, UBC Vancouver, has been honoured with the 2023 Charles A. McDowell Award for Excellence in Research! Established in 1985, the Charles A. McDowell Award for Excellence in Research, one of UBC's most prestigious research prizes, is named in honour of Professor Emeritus Charles A. McDowell.

Marie Auger-Méthé is internationally known as a highly original interdisciplinary researcher who has developed and applied impactful statistical methods that answer essential questions in ecology and wildlife conservation and management. Her statistical methods allow her to analyze the large and complex data from bio-logging devices attached to an animal to infer how the animal’s behaviour relates to its health and the environment and habitat it encounters. Her widely cited research brings new insights into the responses of ecologically important species to global environmental changes. It provides other researchers with the statistical tools to gain insights from their data. With expertise in both statistics and ecology, Marie is a rare researcher who can lead field campaigns and develop advanced statistical techniques to analyze the data. Marie has shown outstanding leadership in addressing ecological issues and developing statistical tools and approaches that will remarkably influence the future of marine scientific ecology. 

UBC’s Faculty Research Awards recognize faculty's research excellence and scholarly achievements across all disciplines, ranging from the applied sciences and medicine to the social sciences and humanities. Award recipients are selected by UBC’s Faculty Research Awards Committee and include early career researchers through to established members of faculty. Amongst numerous outstanding candidates, only 27 UBC faculty members were selected to receive these prestigious awards this year, and we proudly announce Marie Auger-Méthé's well-deserved inclusion among them.

Please join us in extending heartfelt congratulations to Marie on this well-deserved recognition!

To view the full list of UBC Faculty Research Award Winners 2023, please visit:

To learn more about the Charles A. McDowell Award, please see:

March 19, 2024