News & Events

Subscribe to email list

Please select the email list(s) to which you wish to subscribe.
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Enter the characters shown in the image.

User menu

You are here

Marshall Prize 2022-2023 winner Evan Sidrow

Evan Sidrow has made important contributions in the development of statistical methodology involving complex hidden Markov models and applications to the analysis of animal movement. His PhD co-supervisors are Marie Auger-Methe and Nancy Heckman. Evan has been involved in Animal Movement Reading Group and the Statistical Ecology Research Group.

Some of the research involves using stochastic algorithms for complex likelihoods. Evan has worked extremely independently, and has skills in modelling, computation, data analysis and interpretation, as well as theoretical work. Evan has one published paper on statistical methodology and other manuscripts being written on methodology or on animal behaviour.

The Marshall Prize honours Professor Albert Marshall for his seminal work in the theory of statistical reliability and for his contributions to the development of statistics at UBC. The prize is awarded to an outstanding M.Sc. or Ph.D. student in the Department of Statistics who has demonstrated excellence in the discipline of statistics as demonstrated by strength in the development and application of statistical methodology.

To learn more about this award and Professor Marshall and previous recipients, please visit:

March 27, 2023