News & Events

Subscribe to email list

Please select the email list(s) to which you wish to subscribe.

User menu

You are here

Marshall Prize: Congratulations, Tanja Högg!

Statistics Ph.D. student Tanja Högg is the recipient of this year’s Marshall Prize. Tanja is carrying out her Ph.D. research under the joint supervision of Paul Gustafson, John Petkau and Yinshan Zhao, focussing on Bayesian methods for the analysis of misclassified data that arise in the context of health administrative database studies. She works in collaboration with Professor Helen Tremlett’s Pharmacoepidemiology in Multiple Sclerosis (PiMS) Research Group, determining statistical methods that allow for detection of subtle signs and symptoms preceding the more defining features of MS. Tanja’s research has already resulted in a major publication (Statistics in Medicine 2017).   

The Marshall Prize is normally awarded annually to a Statistics graduate student who has achieved great distinction, according to the professional and academic criteria by which members of our discipline are judged. The criteria for this award would include proficiency in statistical theory and in the practical application of statistical theory. The Prize honours Professor Albert Marshall for his seminal work in the theory of statistical reliability and for his contributions to the development of Statistics at UBC.

For more information on the Prize and a list of past recipients, please see

February 20, 2018